IAESTE LC Darmstadt

Outgoing

Information for students

These pages are intended for students of the educational institutions in Darmstadt, Germany. Students who are studying in other countries must apply for an IAESTE internship through the committee in their home country. The IAESTE local committee Darmstadt provides internships for the students of the following universities:

  • TU Darmstadt, 
  • h_da Darmstadt,
  • EH Darmstadt, also for
  • Goethe-Universtät Frankfurt am Main and 
  • Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz.

There are internships offered both in the industry as well as in research institutes, mostly with an scientific/engineering background.

There are places both in industry and at research institutes. Most IAESTE internships last about 2-3 months and often take place during the summer months. The internships are always remunerated; the earnings depend on the typical cost of living of the country. IAESTE takes care of the housing search for the interns and takes care of all necessary formalities. This service is free of charge for students enrolled in Germany. This is made possible by the integration of the IAESTE programme into the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).

 

How to get an internship with IAESTE?

The following requirements must be met when applying for an IAESTE internship:

  1. You must be a registered student at a German educational institution at the time of the formal application: TU Darmstadt, h_da Darmstadt, EH Darmstadt, Goethe-Universtät Frankfurt am Main oder Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz.
  2. You are studying in the third semester or higher
  3. You must be less than 30 years old
  4.  For internships outside the EU: You must be in possession of a passport which remains valid throughout the proposed internship period. A national ID card is not sufficient!

Additional points to consider:

  • For internship positions in some countries (e.g. USA, Korea, Japan, many EU countries) a certificate of conduct from the police is required. You can apply for this at the police station in your home town. Please take into consideration that the application of this certificate can take additional time.
  • Some employers ask for an additional letter of recommendation (in English) when applying for an internship. This can be a letter from a previous employer, or from the university. Our experience shows that many faculties have a template for this type of letter prepared. Just visit your favorite professor and ask.

 

If you meet the requirements for an IAESTE internship, you can take part in the regular application process.

From October we will open the pre-application procedure. This runs on the IAESTE Exchange Platform (EP). There you have to register as a student, enter your data and upload the following files:

  • Letter of motivation on the basis of which we then decide whom we would like to arrange for an internship abroad
  • CV
  • Transcript of Records (auf Englisch)
  • Certificate of registration
  • English language certificate

Only when all documents are complete, we can verify you and take the next steps!

Depending on the specified boundary conditions (country requirements, period, qualifications), an attempt will then be made to exchange suitable internship offers for our applicants. This takes place at national conferences organized by the DAAD, in which we as LC Darmstadt will participate.

As we currently receive about 7 places per year in Darmstadt, and the number of applicants is around 40, we can not offer every applicant a suitable internship. For several interested students on an available internship we then decide on the basis of the pre-applications.

If we were able to assign you an internship, you have to decide if you definitely accept the offer, i.e. want to send a compulsory application to the employer. Afterwards you will receive from us all documents that are necessary for the final application. The final feedback will be received in April.

The deadline for submitting a pre-application and letter of motivation is at the beginning of January each year (next deadline: 12 January 2020). The mediated internships then take place in the following months (usually in summer).

More information can be found here.

After the internship offers have been distributed in the regular application procedure, some internships offers may still be remaining. These remaining internships are often quite interesting and will be redistributed in a post-exchange session independently from the online pre-applications.

In addition to the regular one-year rotation for internships, there are COBE and FCFS (First-come-first-serve) offers. These are updated throughout the year and it's worth checking out the current list from time to time. You can find them under this link. If you are interested in a place, simply contact us at info@iaeste-darmstadt.de and we will be happy to help you.

COBE Offers are offers for which the employer receives several applications. For FCFS-Offers you have to be fast: Here there is only one application for a position, which is awarded after the first-come first-serve principle.

Advantages of an IAESTE internship

Time saving

An internship with IAESTE saves you a lot of time - especially during the application and formal processes (visa etc). If you have any questions, we as LC Darmstadt try to assist whereever possible. This service is cost-free for students studying in Germany.

Paid internships

IAESTE internships are usually paid and the salary is sufficient for all living expenses. An additional advantage is the "Reisekostenzuschuss" of the DAAD for travelling to countries outside the EU.

Local Assistance

The Local Committee at your working place will organize a place to live, will pick you up at the airport and is able to assist you for any questions. Also, the LCs usually organize trips and partys for you to meet other interns and new people.

Outgoing Experiences

More reports are available here.

„My two months in Brazil have been an adventurous and exciting time full of new experiences! An internship is a great opportunity to get to know a country from a local perspective. I visited a lot of stunning places: Paraty, Ilhabela, Vitória, the waterfalls of Foz do Iguazu and much more! Thanks to all the IAESTE volunteers who made that incredible experience possible!“
Simon
Outgoer 2018
„One of the most heard sentences on the streets in Nablus was ‚You are welcome to Palestine!‘ There are a lot of stories told about the relationship to Israel, and there are a lot of sites to visit informing about the Middle East Conflict, especially as a German. During my internship at the Energy Research Center in Nablus I worked on solar cells and had enough time to plan my next trip to the Golan Heights, Jerusalem and many more places.“
Florian
Outgoer 2018

FAQ

In many countries, it is anyway mandatory, but in any case, a health insurance is vitally important. Furthermore, an accident and a liability insurance, which is valid abroad, is highly recommended.

The DAAD offers IAESTE interns a cost-effective combined health, accident and liability insurance. The insurance premium (tariff 720 / A) has been a constant € 32.00 per month since 01.12.2015. You can find the insurance conditions for interns hier.

Applying for insurance for IAESTE interns is done in different ways, depending on whether you have applied for a travel allowance or not.

If you have applied for a travel allowance or plan to do so, then you can also take out the insurance via the DAAD portal. If you are not applying for a travel allowance, you can email the application for insurance directly to our office.

Students of all disciplines who would like to complete an internship prescribed or recommended by the respective faculty can apply for a travel allowance from the DAAD. The amount of the subsidy depends on the destination country.

More information can be found here

  • Gültiger Reisepass bzw. Personalausweis (nur für die EU)
  • Visa
  • Auslandskrankenvericherung, ebenso Unfall- und Haftpflichtversicherung. 
  • Genügend Geld für den ersten Monat
  • Impfpass
  • Studienbescheinigung Eurer Universität
  • Internationaler Studienausweis, gibt es beim Asta
  • Digitalkamera mit ausreichend Speicherplatz
  • Gute Wanderschuhe
  • Warme Kleidung (auch in der Wüste kann es kalt werden)
  • Badeklamotten
  • Adapter für den dortigen Stromanschluss
  • Evtl. Schlafsack, Bettzeug und Mosktionetz
  • Optional: Infomaterial über Deutschland, ein paar Gastgeschenke

If necessary, you apply for the visa by submitting the form N / 5a (provided by us), the employer confirmation, and any other enclosed documents directly from the responsible consulate or embassy. Since from time to time legal changes may occur, you should inform yourself in good time about the current status of the entry requirements. We like to support you.

tbd

en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK)

IAESTE LC Darmstadt

Outgoing

Infos für Studierende

Das IAESTE Lokalkomitee Darmstadt vermittelt Fachpraktika im Ausland für Studierende folgender Universitäten/Hochschulen:

  • TU Darmstadt, 
  • h_da Darmstadt,
  • EH Darmstadt, außerdem der
  • Goethe-Universtät Frankfurt am Main und der 
  • Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz.

Die Praktikumsangebote sind vorwiegend auf Studenten technischer und naturwissenschaftlicher Fachrichtungen ausgelegt.  Von Zeit zu Zeit werden jedoch auch Praktikumsplätze mit wirtschaftlichem oder gesellschaftswissenschaftlichem Schwerpunkt ausgeschrieben.

Es gibt sowohl Plätze in der Industrie als auch an Forschungsinstituten. Die meisten IAESTE-Praktika dauern etwa 2-3 Monate und finden oft in den Sommermonaten statt. Die Praktika sind grundsätzlich immer vergütet; der Verdienst richtet sich dabei nach den landestypischen Lebenshaltungskosten. IAESTE übernimmt für die Praktikanten die Wohnungssuche und erledigt alle notwendigen Formalitäten. Dieser Service ist für in Deutschland eingeschriebene Studenten kostenlos. Ermöglicht wird dies durch die Eingliederung des IAESTE-Programms in den Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD).

 

Wie kann ich ein Praktikum über IAESTE bekommen?

Um dich beim IAESTE LC Darmstadt für ein Praktikum zu bewerben, musst du einige wenige Voraussetzungen erfüllen. Diese sind:

  1. Du bist aktuell an einer der folgenden Hochschulen immatrikuliert: TU Darmstadt, h_da Darmstadt, EH Darmstadt, Goethe-Universtät Frankfurt am Main oder Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz.
  2. Du bist befindest dich aktuell im dritten Fachsemester oder höher
  3. Du hast das 30. Lebensjahr noch nicht vollendet
  4.  Für Praktika außerhalb der EU musst du einen Reisepass besitzen, der über die Dauer des Praktikums hinaus gültig ist. Ein Personalausweis reicht nicht aus!

Des weiteren gilt es zu beachten:

  • Für Praktika in einigen Ländern (z.B. USA, Korea, Japan, viele EU Länder) ist die Ausstellung eines polizeilichen Führungszeugnisses notwendig. Dies kann in der zuständigigen Polizeidienststelle am Hauptwohnsitz beantragt werden. Hierbei ist von einer zusätzlichen Bearbeitungszeit auszugehen, die bei der Bewerbung berücksichtigt werden sollte.
  • Manche Arbeitgeber verlangen ein zusätzliches Empfehlungsschreiben (Letter of Recommendation) von der Bildungseinrichtung oder einem früheren Arbeitgeber. Hierzu kann ein Arbeitszeugnis einer Praktikums- oder HiWi-Stelle dienen. Alternativ haben die meisten Fachgebiete Vorlagen für solche Schreiben, in denen lediglich der Name des Studenten ergänzt werden muss. Frage hierzu am besten einfach beim Professor deines Vertrauens an!

 

Wenn du die Voraussetzungen für ein IAESTE Praktikum erfüllst, kannst du am regulären Bewerbungsverfahren teilnehmen.

Ab Oktober eröffnen wir das Vorbewerbungsverfahren. Dieses läuft über die IAESTE Exchange Platform (EP). Dort musst du dich als Student registieren, deine Daten eingeben und folgende Dateien hochladen:

  • Motivationsschreiben, aufgrund dessen wir dann entscheiden, wem wir gerne ein Auslandspraktikum ermöglichen würden
  • Lebenslauf
  • Transcript of Records
  • Aktuelle Immatrikulationsbescheinigung
  • Sprachzeugnis über die englische Sprache

Erst wenn alle Unterlagen vollständig sind, können wir euch verifizieren und die nächsten Schritte einleiten!

Abhängig von den angegebenen Randbedingungen (Länderwünsche, Zeitraum, Qualifikationen) wird dann versucht, passende Praktikumsangebote für unsere Bewerber zu ertauschen. Dies findet auf nationalen, vom DAAD organisierten Konferenzen statt, auf welchen wir vom LC Darmstadt teilnehmen.

Da wir in Darmstadt derzeit jährlich etwa 7 Plätze im Tauschverfahren erhalten, und die Anzahl der Bewerber bei ca. 40 liegt, können wir nicht jedem Bewerber einen geeigneten Praktikumsplatz anbieten. Bei mehreren Interessenten auf einem verfügbaren Praktikumsplatz entscheiden wir dann anhand der Vorbewerbungen über die endgültige Platzvergabe.

Wenn wir euch einen Praktikumsplatz zuweisen konnten, müsst ihr euch entscheiden, ob ihr den Angebot definitiv annehmen, d.h. eine verpflichtende Bewerbung an den Arbeitgeber senden wollt. Anschließend bekommt ihr von uns sämtliche Unterlagen ausgehändigt, die für die endgültige Bewerbung notwendig sind. Die finale Rückmeldung erhaltet ihr ca. im April.

Die Deadline für die Abgabe einer Vorbewerbung und des Motivationsschreibens ist jedes Jahr Anfang Januar (nächste Frist: 12. Januar 2020). Die vermittelten Praktika finden dann in den darauffolgenden Monaten (meist im Sommer) statt.

Weitere Informationen über das Bewerbungsverfahren erhaltet ihr hier.

Im regulären Bewerbungsverfahren bleiben nach der ersten Platzvergabe oft Plätze übrig, die mitunter recht interessant sind. Diese Restplätze werden im sogenannten Nachtauschverfahren vergeben. Dabei spielt die Abgabe einer Vorbewerbung keine Rolle mehr. Das Nachtauschverfahren findet jedes Jahr im März statt. Wenn wir für dich über das reguläre Bewerbungsverfahren keinen Platz ertauschen konnten, informieren wir dich natürlich über die Nachtauschmöglichkeiten und halten mit die Rücksprache, an welchen Plätzen du ebenfalls Interesse hast.

Zusätzlich zu dem regulären, einjährigen Turnus für Praktikumsplätze gibt es sog. COBE und FCFS (First-come-first-serve) Offers. Diese werden das ganze Jahr aktualisiert und es lohnt sich, immer mal wieder in die aktuelle Liste hineinzuschauen. Du findest sie unter diesem Link. Wenn dich ein Platz interessiert, kontaktiere uns einfach unter info@iaeste-darmstadt.de und wir helfen dir gerne weiter. 

COBE-Offers sind Angebote, für die der Arbeitgeber mehrere Bewerbungen erhält. Bei FCFS-Offers gilt es schnell zu sein: Hier gibt es für eine Stelle nur eine Bewerbung, welche nach dem first-come first-serve vergeben wird.

Vorteile eines IAESTE-Praktikums

Zeitersparnis

Durch ein Praktikum mit IAESTE sparst du dir viel Zeit - vor allem beim Bewerbungsprozess und Formalia (Visum, Arbeitserlaubnis, etc.). Falls du Fragen hast, stehen wir dir als LC Darmstadt immer zur Verfügung. Der Service ist für in Deutschland eingeschriebene Studierende kostenlos!

Praktikums-vergütung

IAESTE-Praktika sind in der Regel bezahlt und das verdiente Geld reicht aus, um die Wohnung zu bezahlen und den Lebensunterhalt zu bestreiten. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist der Reisekostenzuschuss in außereuropäische Länder, den der DAAD nach erfolgreicher Bewerbung gewährt.

Betreuung vor Ort

Das IAESTE LC an deinem Praktikumsort organisiert dir deine Wohnung, holt dich vom Flughafen ab und steht als Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung, falls du Fragen hast. Außerdem organisiert es Ausflüge und Partys und lässt dich so schnell Anschluss finden.

Outgoing-Erfahrungen

Mehr Erfahrungsberichte sind auf der internationalen IAESTE Seite verfügbar.

„My two months in Brazil have been an adventurous and exciting time full of new experiences! An internship is a great opportunity to get to know a country from a local perspective. I visited a lot of stunning places: Paraty, Ilhabela, Vitória, the waterfalls of Foz do Iguazu and much more! Thanks to all the IAESTE volunteers who made that incredible experience possible!“
Simon
Outgoer 2018
„One of the most heard sentences on the streets in Nablus was ‚You are welcome to Palestine!‘ There are a lot of stories told about the relationship to Israel, and there are a lot of sites to visit informing about the Middle East Conflict, especially as a German. During my internship at the Energy Research Center in Nablus I worked on solar cells and had enough time to plan my next trip to the Golan Heights, Jerusalem and many more places.“
Florian
Outgoer 2018

FAQ

In vielen Ländern ist es ohnehin Pflicht, in jedem Fall aber ist eine Auslandskrankenversicherung elementar wichtig. Weiter ist eine Unfall- und eine Haftpflichtversicherung, die im Ausland gültig ist, sehr zu empfehlen.

Der DAAD bietet für IAESTE Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten eine kostengünstige kombinierte Auslandskranken-, -unfall und -haftpflichtversicherung an.  Die Versicherungsprämie (Tarif 720/A) beträgt seit dem 01.12.2015 konstant 32,00 € pro Monat. Die Versicherungsbedingungen für Praktikanten findest Du hier.

Die Anmeldung zur Versicherung für IAESTE-Praktikanten erfolgt auf unterschiedlichen Wegen, abhängig davon, ob du einen Fahrtkostenzuschuss beantragt hast oder nicht.

Hast du einen Fahrtkostenzuschuss beantragt bzw. planst, dies zu tun,  kannst du die Versicherung anschließend ebenfalls über das DAAD-Portal abschließen. Wenn du keinen Fahrtkostenzuschuss beantragst, kannst du den Antrag für die Versicherung direkt per email an unsere Versicherungsstelle schicken.

Studierende aller Fachrichtungen, die ein von der jeweiligen Fakultät vorgeschriebenes oder empfohlenes Praktikum im Ausland absolvieren möchten, können beim DAAD einen Fahrtkostenzuschuss beantragen. Die Höhe des Zuschusses richtet sich nach dem Zielland.

Weitere Informationen findet ihr hier.

  • Gültiger Reisepass bzw. Personalausweis (nur für die EU)
  • Visum
  • Auslandskrankenvericherung, ebenso Unfall- und Haftpflichtversicherung. 
  • Genügend Geld für den ersten Monat
  • Impfpass
  • Studienbescheinigung Eurer Universität
  • Internationaler Studienausweis, gibt es beim Asta
  • Digitalkamera mit ausreichend Speicherplatz
  • Gute Wanderschuhe
  • Warme Kleidung (auch in der Wüste kann es kalt werden)
  • Badeklamotten
  • Adapter für den dortigen Stromanschluss
  • Evtl. Schlafsack, Bettzeug und Mosktionetz
  • Optional: Infomaterial über Deutschland, ein paar Gastgeschenke

Das Visum, sofern erforderlich, beantragst Du unter Vorlage des Formulars N/5a (bekommst du von uns), der Arbeitgeberbestätigung, und ggf. andere beigelegte Unterlagen direkt bei dem zuständigen Konsulat bzw. Botschaft. Da von Zeit zu Zeit aufenthaltsrechtliche Änderungen eintreten können, solltest Du Dich rechtzeitig über den aktuellen Stand der Einreisebestimmungen informieren. Wir unterstützen dich dabei gerne.

tbd

de_DEDeutsch
en_GBEnglish (UK) de_DEDeutsch